Skip to main content
Phase two of training in the MD program covers required clerkships, quality health care delivery and career exploration electives.

MD Curriculum Year Three

The second phase (third year) of the MD curriculum at Indiana University School of Medicine centers on developing clinical skills through training in clinical clerkships, including typical outpatient, inpatient, triage and interventional venues. The Phase 2 curriculum consists of Transitions 2, Sessions to Enhance Physician Success (STEPS), required clerkships and career exploration electives.

Transitions 2

Transitions 2 is a two-week course that occurs during the beginning of the third year of medical school (Phase 2). The course is an integrated series of lectures, small group discussions, online modules and case-based learning. Transitions 2 builds upon Phase 1 experiences by helping students develop the skills required to serve as a high-functioning member of a health care team.

Health Systems Science 3: Sessions to Enhance Physician Success (STEPS)

STEPS is a required component of the Phase 2 curriculum that occurs on inter-clerkship days throughout the academic year. The majority of the course is held online and is a mixture of synchronous live sessions and asynchronous material. At the end of the course students will engage with community health partners to learn more about population health in our community. The goal of this course is to help Phase 2 students to further develop the skills they need to successfully accomplish the goals of each aspect of the quadruple aim:

  • Improved Provider Wellbeing
  • Improved Quality of Care and Patient Experience
  • Improved Population Health
  • Lower Cost of Care

Required Clerkships

During clerkships, MD students gain specialty-specific clinical skills that will help them choose a specialty for residency.


Elective courses in the basic sciences and clinical sciences enable medical students to pursue topics of special interest.