Featured Post

Spotlight Kathy Frank

Kathy Frank is a firm believer in teamwork. For decades she has played an integral role in the Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics as the Geriatrics Program Administrator. Having first joined the division in 2000, she has served in her position for 25 of the program’s 27 years. Her passion for patient care, teaching and mentoring have helped form the team and set the tone for the teamwork that drives it.

Caitlin VanOverberghe  |  Jun 13, 2024

Read this story

Dr. David Aronoff delivers his State of the Department Address in 2024.

Department of Medicine holds 2024 annual meeting

Department of Medicine Chair David Aronoff, MD, FIDSA, FAAM, delivered his annual State of the Department address on June 10, 2024 before an audience of

Caitlin VanOverberghe  |  Jun 11, 2024

Close-up of gloved hand holding pipet and small tube

IU School of Medicine names 2024 Showalter Scholars

IU School of Medicine names four outstanding scientists as the 2024 Showalter Scholars: Thomas Everett, PhD; Troy Markel, MD; Roman Natoli, MD, PhD; and Yong Zang,
Division Director Michael Econs, MD, presents an award to Wade Jodeh, MD.

2024 Endocrinology Awards

Each year, the Division of Endocrinology in the Department of Medicine recognizes fellows and faculty members with awards voted on by their colleagues.
Naftali Kaminski, MD, speaks during Celebration of Science Day in May 2024. He is standing at a podium in front of a slideshow display and a small audience.

Department's 2024 Celebration of Science Day

The Department of Medicine’s inaugural Celebration of Science Day was a great success, bringing together early-stage investigators with experienced faculty for an unmatched educational experience.
2020 residents stand wearing masks and socially distanced

Southwest IM Residency building international reputation

Sixteen students will be joining the Department of Medicine’s Southwest Indiana Internal Medicine Residency this summer
Internal Medicine Residents Erica Swanson, MD, and Tanner Corse, MD, recently journeyed to Washington DC with the American College of Physicians as part of the orga

Residents participate in advocacy on Capitol Hill

Two internal medicine residents from the IU School of Medicine Department of Medicine recently journeyed to Washington DC with the American College of Physicians as

Caitlin VanOverberghe  |  Jun 05, 2024

Spotlight on research logo with image of research paper and a background image of test tubes with liquid being piped.

Spotlight on Research: Dr. Al Hassanein's Revolutionizing Lymphedema Treatment

Lymphedema, a debilitating condition affecting 250 million individuals globally, has long been a medical puzzle with no definitive solution. However, recent strides in research spearheaded

Cassie Needy  |  May 21, 2024

Holly Crandall

Staff Spotlight: Holly Crandall

Holly Crandall does an excellent job of maintaining organized and complete records in her role as a Project Management Specialist for the Division of Gastroenterology/Hepatology.

Caitlin VanOverberghe  |  May 08, 2024

Dean Hess shakes the hand of a Trustees' Teaching Award recipient.

Department of Medicine faculty earn Trustee Teaching Awards

Each year the Indiana University Board of Trustees recognizes faculty members for their excellence in teaching. Ten of the 57 faculty members from IU School

Caitlin VanOverberghe  |  May 08, 2024