Skip to main content

Advanced Endoscopy Clinical Care History

A founder of the Division, Dr. Glen Lehman, transformed IU Gastro's advanced endoscopy presence worldwide. For over 30 years, Dr. Lehman heavily involved himself in training and teaching fellows, including those from more than 15 countries worldwide. His academic legacy includes numerous high-profile publications, book chapters, and hundreds of invited talks and presentations in the U.S. and internationally. He has received Photo of Dr. Lehman in the endoscopy suite during a procedure talking to a colleague.several distinguished awards, notably the Rudolf Schindler Award, the most prestigious awards presented by the American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy.

In 2007, the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology at IU established the Glen A. Lehman Professorship of Gastroenterology. Dr. Stuart Sherman, a mentee of Dr. Lehman who has also gained wide international recognition in the field of endoscopy, became the first recipient of this professorship.

Alongside Dr. Lehman, Dr. Stuart Sherman was a giant in the GI endoscopy field, and has left a thriving legacy within our Division. Originally from New York City, Dr. Sherman chose to complete his advanced endoscopy fellowship at Indiana University. After serving as the Director of Pancreaticobiliary Endoscopy at UCLA School of Medicine,  Photo of Stuart Sherman holding his ASGE Rudolf A. Schindler Award in 2023. he returned to Indiana University in 1992 to officially join as IU Gastro faculty. In 1995, he became the Director of ERCP service and went on to become full Professor of Medicine and Radiology. Dr. Sherman is a recognized authority figure on the application of ERCP to disease of the  pancreas and biliary tract. He lectured internationally and nationally and has published more than 400 articles and book chapters; mentored more than 50 GI fellows, advanced endoscopy trainees, research fellows and junior faculty in research. In 2021, colleague Dr. Evan Fogel became the inaugural recipient of the Stuart Sherman Professorship in Gastroenterology. The final mark he left in the Gastroenterology field was being the recipient of the ASGE Rudolf A. Schindler Award in 2023.

Connect with us on LinkedIn

Connect with us on YouTube

Support Gastroenterology and Hepatology - Advanced Endoscopy

For more information about how to support the Division's Advanced Endoscopy endeavors, please see links below.