Skip to main content

Outstanding Staff Commitment to Inclusive Excellence Award

Indiana University School of Medicine created this award in 2019 to recognize a professional staff employee who demonstrates a commitment to the creation, promotion or advancement of inclusive excellence on our campuses. Support of the success of our community in the School of Medicine is of utmost importance. This award encourages and reinforces behaviors that support learner, faculty and staff success and the strategic efforts garnered towards inclusive excellence. The Center for Inclusive Excellence will support one staff award annually.

Nominate a candidate

Any faculty or staff may nominate any staff employee within IU School of Medicine. Nominations are due July 24th.

Previous Recipient

portrait of natassia belton

Natassia Belton

Stark Neuroscience Research Center


  • Enhance the visibility and impact of inclusive excellence efforts within and beyond the IU School of Medicine
  • Reinforce the IU School of Medicine core value of diversity
  • Promote growth and sustainability of inclusive excellence initiatives
  • Recognize and reward outstanding staff members who lead relevant efforts that contribute to the school's diversity and inclusion strategic priorities


  • Employees must hold a full-time appointed staff position within IU School of Medicine and be employed on the date the payment is awarded.
  • Employees must have a minimum of one year of service in IU School of Medicine.
  • Staff should demonstrate an extraordinary contribution* to inclusive excellence at the IU School of Medicine.

* Extraordinary contributions are above and beyond the usual responsibilities, occur over a finite period of time, and do not recur on a regular basis.


A lump-sum discretionary bonus payment(s) of up to $2,000 for one (1) staff member in a fiscal year will be granted. 

Note: This award is not a substitute for a base salary increase, a temporary pay increase, or an equity adjustment. It is intended to reward those members of our staff for a specific instance where they assisted, coached, and/or developed programs, events, efforts, and/or initiatives centering on inclusive excellence. 

Nomination Process

  • Any member of the faculty, staff, or student may nominate any staff member.
  • Self-nominations are welcome.
  • If a nominator is not the nominee’s supervisor, a letter of support from the supervisor is required.

Nominate a candidate

Selection Process

  • A review committee comprised of members representing multiple departments and operational units will select the awardee based on the criteria stated above.
  • Once selected, awardees will be notified by email with a cc to the supervisor.

Human Resource Services will verify eligibility, review for completeness, and resolve any questions by mid-October. Requests will be evaluated by a review committee against the criteria in the discretionary bonus guidelines, and requests meeting the criteria will be forwarded to the Dean and Executive Associate Deans with a recommendation for approval. Nominators submitting requests will be notified if the bonus has been approved or does not meet the criteria in the guidelines.

Past Winners

2019 Francine Epperson
Clinical Research & Autopsy Coordinator
Indiana Alzheimer Disease Center and the Dementia Research Laboratory